PinBoard


Jermaine Dupri: Usher “Seems Disrespectful” [NEWS] by Windowpane
Tuesday, May 4, 2010, 11:47 pm
Filed under: Music News, Must Read, Things We're Diggin'

Check this interview Jermaine Dupri did with VIBE.com where he discusses his lack of involvement in Usher’s new album and why he feels somewhat disrespected by artists like Mariah Carey & Usher after producing some of their biggest hits…

“I’ve gotten past the whole, “JD doesn’t get the respect he deserves” thing. If niggas don’t pay attention to what I’ve done and how long I’ve been doing it, they will someday. But it’s kind of weird because Billboard named Mariah Carey’s “We Belong Together,” which I produced, as Song Of The Decade this year. That’s an accomplishment that no other producer had on the charts. But then Billboard names the Neptunes producers of the year? The accolades don’t even go with each other anymore. That’s why I never get my hopes up. I’m just happy to still be in the game.

There was some talk that you were going to executive produce Usher’s latest album Raymond v. Raymond. Why didn’t it happen?

Well, I didn’t really want to be executive producer of Usher’s projects after Confessions. Me as a producer, it’s kind of hard for me to go back into people’s projects when I gave you your biggest album ever…you sold more records than any other artist in this decade based on that album and now I have to ask you am I the executive producer of your next album? That seems disrespectful to me. Obviously, I’m looking at something different than everyone is looking at it whether it’s the label, the artist, management… whoever it is.

I’ve had this same conversation with L.A. Reid, because I’m doing Mariah Carey’s album right now. And on her last album, I didn’t have one song on there. But I did Emancipation of Mimi and she sold more records than she sold in the last five years. What part of the game makes y’all not call me? But I’m not going to keep sticking my neck out. But I don’t feel like I’m supposed to ask to produce anymore. People are supposed to come to me and tell me that I’m the executive producer. That’s why I get more kicks working with younger artists.

I can’t even hate on JD here. While I always maintain some things should be said privately, I don’t think he was out of line in saying any of that. What he’s saying is true – he was executive producer on Usher’s last hit album Confessions (I know the new album has been ‘successful’ but I remain ignorant on it) and on Mariah’s The Emancipation of Mimi, so why would he then be ‘shut out’ from the following projects? Not saying it was done maliciously, but still it’s a bit weird?

I never think it’s a bad idea for an artist to branch out and work with other/new producers, but it does seem (and I may be wrong) that these two in particular have forgotten that JD has served up the goods, consistently for them, for a good amount of years – especially in Mariah’s case, who is now back working with him (after her last album taaaanked). Interesting.

He’s also right in saying that he doesn’t really get the props he deserves, even I sometimes forget to really give the man full credit – he’s been producing massive songs for the longest time too. Wonder why that is?

Read the rest of the interview over at VIBE.com

Peace, Love & Jermaine Dupri

Speeakz

Shouts to Y2K


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

