PinBoard


Onra – “Long Distance” EP [Review] by Windowpane
Monday, April 26, 2010, 2:11 pm
Filed under: Music, Music New, Must Read, Reviews, Things We're Diggin'

This EP blends 80’s Funk with 90’s R&B – I actually couldn’t think of anything better if I tried!

I’ve been a big fan of French beat-maker Onra for a minute now, but after hearing “Long Distance” feat Oliver Day Soul a while back, I have been desperately waiting to hear the rest. The EP, entitled Long Distance was released on iTunes last week and is a precursor to his full album of the same name set to drop in May.

“Long Distance” (stream above) the EP’s title track has a funky soul groove ready to get any house party or rave going. Olivier Day Soul applies his soulful vocals to this modern day New Jack Swing track – just listen to it and tell me I’m wrong! “High Hopes” featuring Reggie B, is in my opinion the EP’s highlight track – it takes me back to the sizzling summers of the 1990’s. Onra has found a brilliant way of blending something very fresh and current and lacing it over something quintessentially ol’ school. This track reminds me a lot of Prince circa 1996. The EP’s two instrumental tracks “Rock On” and “Oper8tor” display Onra’s impeccable talent as a beat maker – incorporating synthesised funk, hard knocking beats and 80’s experimental sounds.

Onra’s blend of contemporary and classic sounds work brilliantly well – I found Long Distance to be completely refreshing – I can only imagine what the full album will sound like! This is feel good music.

Onra’s Long Distance EP is out now, you can buy it via iTunes (£2.49!) – I implore you, purchase it, play it loud and enjoy! The full album is scheduled to drop in May

Peace, Love & Onra

Speeakz


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

