PinBoard


Generation Soul: Nina Simone Tribute [VIDEO] by Windowpane
Monday, April 5, 2010, 11:25 pm
Filed under: Music, Must Watch, Things We're Diggin'
Vodpod videos no longer available.

This is awesome. The good folks over at SoulSummer have put together this beautiful video of musicians and singers talking about Nina Simone, the effect she had on their lives and the tribute concert held in her honour. A great watch.

…On a personal note, I was introduced to Nina Simone’s music when I was 9 by my piano teacher. I was constantly moaning about having to play classical music (which she pretty much forced me to do) because I wanted to play…Mainstream stuff. Music that my friends would recognise (lol). I pleaded with her that I liked Hip Hop and R&B and really didn’t like classical. She then said “listen to this”, and played “Sinnerman”, I heard that piano and was sold, sold, sold. And her words to me: “If you learn to play Classical, everything else will follow” and thus my love affair with Nina Simone…And Classical music were born. Many admire Simone for her songs and words, her powerful nature and strength. And as much as that is justified – for me, it’s always her skills on the keys. She is, without question, one of the great pianist period. Random story, but true nonetheless.

Peace, Love & Nina Simone

Speeakz


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

