PinBoard


Marsha Ambrosius Talks About New Album [NEWS] by Windowpane
Tuesday, March 16, 2010, 12:04 am
Filed under: Music News, Must Read, Things We're Diggin'

Marsha Ambrosius Photography by Shan Phearon www.pinboardblog.com

Marsha Ambrosius Photography by Shan Phearon http://www.pinboardblog.com

PinBoard obsession favourite Marsha Ambrosius recently spoke to VIBE Magazine about her upcoming album Late Nights & Early Mornings on J Records, saying that “this is like an adventure to me. I got to discover who I am as an artist and what I want versus what people expect from me”. She continues by saying that 10 years ago, when she started out, she was only 22, but now she’s a “grown woman” there is “no room for error” and that “the journey of defining who [she is] has been joyous”.

“The vibe of the album [is] sensual, it’s sincere, it’s seductive. It’s an angle that I’ve always pushed as a singer anyway,” she said. “Not too many women get the opportunity to say what they want, and having controlled and written pretty much everything I get to do all of that on one album. J Records they understood me as an artist and said, ‘what do you want? How do you want to sound? What do you feel like your album should be’ and they allowed me to go in the studio.”

Despite remaining tight lipped about the albums cameo list, she does divulge about a couple songs in particular – including one titled “THE Breakup”, a song about a former boyfriend. “You have the breakup song but this is thee breakup song. We were dating, he was cool, we were cool, but we were both in two different places and he wanted something more than I did and I just had to be hones…As a woman sometimes you try to play the ‘No everything is okay’ and roll with the punches. I was at my breaking point and I called like, ‘Look, I need space.’ [On this song,] I really sang my whole conversation I had with this person. So it doesn’t even feel like a song to me. It was definitely my favorite executed conversation piece that I ever did”.

Late Nights & Early Mornings, along side Erykah’s New Amerykah Part 2: Return of the Ankh are my most anticipated albums of 2010. I seriously, seriously cannot wait to hear Marsha’s debut, expect sometime in June. I will remain listening to her mixtape’s and EP’s until then however.

Previous: PinBoard Exclusive: Marsha Ambrosius Interview (Video) / Marsha Ambrosius – “Yours Sincerly” EP

Peace, Love & Marsha Ambrosuius

Speeakz

Photography: Shan Phearon


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] things. Monae’s debut album The ArchAndriod is out May 28th – and I can’t wait. I know I said Erykah Badu’s & Marsha Ambrosius’ new albums are my most highly anticipated – […]

Pingback by Janelle Monae Interview w/ Vibe.com [VIDEO] « PinBoard




Leave a Reply

